I’m pretty confused about one thing.

When deleting your own comment, there always stays a placeholder in its place. I noticed this with my own and other lemmings posts.

So far so good, but i tried to reply to a deleted comment by another lemming and above the reply box was the full comment the other user deleted.

I mean the full content of the comment that was deleted.

Is this the normal behavior in Lemmy or is it Sync?

I mean, i want my deleted comments to disappear and not just hidden and for everyone available to read.

Please try it out and reply to my deleted comment in this post. Just above the reply textarea you’ll see my deleted comment.

  • dog@suppo.fi
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    10
    ·
    4 months ago

    Due to the nature of Lemmy, nothing is ever truly deleted as it gets federated across multiple different instances.

    It may eventually sync across most.

    Deleting tends to only delete it on that instance, hence why when you reply to a deleted one, chances are you see it from your current instance’s cache. Or vice versa.

  • freamon@lemmy.world
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    10
    ·
    4 months ago

    Lemmy let’s you un-delete anything you’ve deleted, so nothing really gets nuked (it seems to be the way these things work anyway, that it’s just a ‘deleted’ flag that’s flipped between true and false).

    On the one hand, it’s a Lemmy problem - I can see you’re comment using the API:

    curl --request GET \
         --url 'https://lemmy.world/api/v3/comment?id=8986376' \
         --header 'accept: application/json'
    
    =>
    {
      "comment_view": {
        "comment": {
          "id": 8986376,
          "creator_id": 399371,
          "post_id": 13748490,
          "content": "See what i mean? I deleted this!",
          "removed": false,
          "published": "2024-03-31T09:48:22.897008Z",
          "deleted": true,
          "ap_id": "https://lemmy.world/comment/8986376",
          "local": true,
          "path": "0.8986376",
          "distinguished": false,
          "language_id": 37
         ...
    

    But there’s also a bug with Sync in that it’s not checking the flag if someone try to reply.

      • freamon@lemmy.world
        link
        fedilink
        English
        arrow-up
        12
        ·
        4 months ago

        If it’s something you feel strongly about, then for this reason, and the usual federation reasons, it’s probably better to overwrite your content with “[deleted]” or something, rather than delete it.

      • exampleA
        link
        fedilink
        English
        arrow-up
        2
        ·
        3 months ago

        fwiw, every week or so there is a scheduled task that permanently overwrites contents of deleted comments.

        fyi @freamon@lemmy.world

      • freamon@lemmy.world
        link
        fedilink
        English
        arrow-up
        5
        ·
        4 months ago

        Removed by Mod vs. Deleted by User

        (you may have already seen this - my original reply went to the wrong place. Which is another Sync bug incidentally, when using the notification to reply (Android))

  • freamon@lemmy.world
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    5
    ·
    edit-2
    4 months ago

    Removed by Mod vs. Deleted by User (sorry, this reply is in the wrong place)

    • ShunkW@lemmy.world
      link
      fedilink
      English
      arrow-up
      7
      ·
      4 months ago

      I can’t believe you said this!!!

      But seriously this means comments aren’t truly being deleted

      • kamenLady.@lemmy.worldOP
        link
        fedilink
        English
        arrow-up
        5
        ·
        4 months ago

        I came across some that had:

        [This comment was deleted by an automated system]

        But that was like 1 in 10 deleted comments i checked.

        • ShunkW@lemmy.world
          link
          fedilink
          English
          arrow-up
          6
          ·
          4 months ago

          That’s probably people overwriting their comments before they delete them. I wrote a script to do this before I nuked my Reddit accounts.

          • kamenLady.@lemmy.worldOP
            link
            fedilink
            English
            arrow-up
            2
            ·
            4 months ago

            TIL

            I think i’ll just asdasd the content of sensible comments before deleting them.

            For most comments i delete, i actually don’t really care, now that i think about it.

            I was just surprised, to be able read the comment.

    • LemmyKnowsBest@lemmy.world
      link
      fedilink
      English
      arrow-up
      3
      ·
      4 months ago

      yeah the last few weeks whenever we delete something, it will still show our username in perpetuity, but to make my actual comment go away I manually delete the comment And replace it with a hashtag.

      Thereafter, people can still upvote the nothingness comment or downvote the nothingness comment and they can still reply to the nothingness comment If they’re weird and they want to, and sometimes they are weird and they do.

    • wahming@monyet.cc
      link
      fedilink
      English
      arrow-up
      2
      ·
      4 months ago

      Your comment show up as deleted for me. Deletions take a while to sync across instances, like anything else in the fediverse.